Sanctuaires les plus visités

Filtrer les éléments par date : juin 2022

Hospitalité

(16e dimanche ordinaire : Genèse 18, 1-10 ; Colossiens 1, 24-28 ; Luc 10, 38-42)

D’accord avec les paroles de Marie, « Avancez, mes enfants, n'ayez pas peur », soyez les bienvenus encore à cette réflexion hebdomadaire. Vous êtes ici chez vous.

Abraham, dans la première lecture, est un modèle d'hospitalité. Il accourt à la rencontre du Seigneur et de ses compagnons, s’assure de leur confort, et fournit un repas de fête. Dans notre expérience, la nourriture et les boissons ne sont-elles pas toujours des éléments d’événements spéciaux ?

Dans Matthieu 25, Jésus souligne l'importance de prévoir aux besoins des autres, à partir de la nourriture pour ceux qui ont faim et le breuvage pour ceux qui ont soif. Et n’oubliez pas qu'il a lui-même lavé les pieds de ses disciples lors de la dernière Cène, et leur a donné la nourriture et la boisson précieuses que nous continuons à recevoir avec gratitude encore de nos jours.

En tant que réconciliateurs, nous connaissons aussi les œuvres spirituelles de miséricorde, pendant que nous nous efforçons d'aider les gens à comprendre la vérité de la miséricorde et de l'amour de Dieu, et son désir de nous attirer à lui-même. Cela requiert de nous un esprit d’hospitalité, alors que, patiemment, nous les guidons, instruisons, réconfortons, blâmons, etc. Cela va mieux si nous pouvons nous mettre à la place des personnes auxquelles nous nous adressons.

Comme saint Paul dans la deuxième lecture, nous aussi sommes des ministres d'une grâce que nous nous efforçons de partager. Nous le faisons ensemble parfois. Mais comme chacun de nous est unique, nous devons adapter notre service selon notre propre personnalité et nos talents.

En cela Marthe et Marie, dans l'évangile, sont des modèles excellents. Selon l'évangile de Jean, Jésus visitait régulièrement leur foyer. Il ne faut pas supposer que Marthe n'écoutait jamais Jésus ou que Marie n'aidait jamais au service. Mais en cette occasion, elles ont démontré une même hospitalité de différentes façons.

Il fallait que quelqu’un prépare le repas. Marthe assuma cette responsabilité.

Quelqu'un devait s’assurer que Jésus se sente le bienvenu, en étant attentif à lui d'une autre façon. Il est peu probable que Marie ait été la seule auprès de Jésus à l'écouter parler, mais Jésus a reconnu que sa présence était le choix approprié. Cela lui était important.

La Belle Dame a porté son attention aux besoins spirituels et matériels de son peuple bien-aimé. Mais tout d'abord elle a dû inviter les enfants à venir à elle. Pour accomplir notre ministère, nous devons faire de même.

Traduction : P. Paul Belhumeur, M.S.

Publié dans MISSION (FR)

La réponse évidente

(15e dimanche ordinaire : Deutéronome 30, 10-14 ; Colossiens 1, 15-20 ; Luc 10, 25-37)

Dans la première lecture, Moïse déclare que la Loi ne dépasse pas la capacité de son peuple à la connaître et à l'accomplir. Marie à La Salette parle de certaines des obligations de la vie chrétienne et catholique—les plus simples et les plus évidentes. Tous deux semblent énoncer des évidences.

Dans l'Évangile d'aujourd'hui, Jésus met au défi un maître de la loi de trouver sa propre réponse à une question à propos de la vie éternelle. Il n'hésite pas. « Tu aimeras le Seigneur ton Dieu de tout ton cœur, de toute ton âme, de toute ta force et de toute ton intelligence, et ton prochain comme toi-même ». La solution est plutôt évidente.

Moïse parle de « cette loi que je te prescris aujourd’hui ». Prescrire veut dire, enjoindre, encourager, exhorter, pousser, etc. Cela suppose la fidélité. Marie espère la même chose, non seulement de Mélanie et de Maximin, mais de tous ceux qui, un jour, entendront ses paroles.

L’observance de la loi amène des bienfaits assurés. Le texte d'aujourd'hui du Deutéronome suit un passage rappelant au peuple les bénédictions qui reviennent à ceux qui observent les commandements. Jésus, dans l'Évangile, dit : « Fais ainsi et tu vivras ». À La Salette, la Belle Dame promet la fin de la famine pour ceux qui se soumettent à son Fils.

Mais agir en vue d'une récompense ne suffit pas pour accomplir le grand commandement. Plus notre amour pour Dieu est parfait, plus il nous deviendra naturel de vivre selon sa volonté.

Considérez Jésus dans sa passion. Il aimait le Père de tout son cœur, transpercé pour nos péchés, ce cœur d’où jaillit du sang et de l'eau ; de toute son âme, lorsqu’il acceptait parfaitement la volonté de son Père dans le jardin de Gethsémani ; de toute sa force en portant sa croix ; de tout son esprit quand il priait même pour ses ennemis.

Marie, au pied de la croix, a uni son amour à celui de son Fils. À La Salette, elle n'a rien demandé pour elle-même. Il fut naturel pour elle de répondre aux besoins de son peuple, c’était la réponse la plus évidente de sa part.

Que devons-nous faire pour obtenir la vie éternelle ? Aimer le Seigneur, notre Dieu... Aimer notre prochain... Va, et toi aussi, fais de même. Est-ce au-dessus de nos forces ou hors de notre atteinte ?

Traduction : P. Paul Belhumeur, M.S.

Publié dans MISSION (FR)

La joie et la fierté des missionnaires

(14e dimanche ordinaire : Isaïe 66, 10-14 ; Galates 6, 14-18 ; Luc 10, 1-12, 17-20)

[NOTE : Cette réflexion est chaleureusement dédiée à la mémoire de Mgr Donald Pelletier, M.S., âgé de 90 ans, missionnaire toute sa vie au Madagascar. Il est mort le 4 juin 2022, heurté par une voiture, alors même que cette réflexion se préparait].

Dans l'évangile d’aujourd’hui, Jésus désigne soixante-douze disciples pour le précéder en toute ville et localité qu'il avait l'intention de visiter. Il leur fournit des instructions spécifiques et assez difficiles à propos de leur mission : comment, quoi, où, etc. Ayant déjà demeuré un temps significatif en sa compagnie, ils étaient prêts, et partirent.

Leur mission réussit, comme nous le lisons : « Les soixante-douze s'en retournèrent tout joyeux, et dirent : ‘Seigneur, même les démons nous sont soumis à cause de ton nom’ ». Les Missionnaires, les Sœurs et les Laïcs salettins ne sont pas étrangers à cette expérience. Soit dans des pays inconnus et en des langues nouvelles, ou dans notre monde familier, nous connaissons la joie de porter un message de paix et de promesse, quand il est bien accueilli.

Mais Jésus a prévu aussi la possibilité d'un échec et dit aux disciples comment faire dans ce cas. Saint Paul donne un autre conseil dans la seconde lecture : « Pour moi, que la croix de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ reste ma seule fierté ».

Dans ce cas nous devons nous rappeler, encore une fois, que toute la lumière glorieuse de l'apparition de Notre-Dame de La Salette émanait du crucifix qui reposait sur son cœur. Lorsque nous rencontrons l'échec ou le rejet dans notre mission de réconciliation, nous pouvons nous imaginer baignés de cette même lumière.

Mais passons. Le thème dominant de la liturgie d'aujourd'hui est la joie. La première lecture nous donne le ton. Dans une vision Isaïe entrevoit le retour des exilés à Jérusalem, et les compare à un bébé qui se nourrit avec exubérance au sein de sa mère — une image du parfait bonheur !

Le psalmiste reprend le thème : « Acclamez Dieu, toute la terre », et puis le répète de plusieurs façons.

Evidemment, nous sommes heureux lorsque notre effort missionnaire porte du fruit. Mais n'oublions pas les paroles de Jésus : « Ne vous réjouissez pas parce que les esprits vous sont soumis ; mais réjouissez-vous parce que vos noms se trouvent inscrits dans les cieux ». Autre encouragement pour nous, si nous en avons besoin : nos noms sont inscrits dans le cœur de la Belle Dame.

Traduction : P. Paul Belhumeur, M.S.

Publié dans MISSION (FR)

Quel joug ?

(13e dimanche ordinaire : 1 Rois 19, 16-21 ; Galates 5, 1, 13-18 ; Luc 9, 51-62)

Quiconque a vu l'agriculture traditionnelle sait ce qu'est un joug : une structure en bois placée sur le cou des animaux, pour labourer ou tirer des charges lourdes. Souvent, deux animaux sont attelés ensemble, partageant le fardeau. Cela fait partie de la première lecture.

Saint Paul, cependant, emploie le terme au sens figuré. « C’est pour que nous soyons libres que le Christ nous a libérés. Alors tenez bon, ne vous mettez pas de nouveau sous le joug de l’esclavage ». Il continue en disant que si nous abusons de notre liberté, nous ne sommes pas libres.

Cela nous fait-il penser, peut-être, à une parole de Jésus ? Elle n’est pas dans l'Évangile d'aujourd'hui, mais dans Matthieu 11, 30 : « Mon joug est facile à porter, et mon fardeau, léger ». Cela s’entend d’ordinaire comme un joug que Jésus place sur nos épaules. Mais une autre interprétation possible pourrait se référer au joug et au fardeau qu’il nous invite à porter avec lui.

Dans les deux cas, une juste soumission est requise, la volonté de connaître sa volonté et le désir de l'accomplir. Cela signifie, en quelque sorte, échanger un joug contre un autre. À La Salette, Marie offre un choix : se soumettre humblement aux exigences de la foi, ou se soumettre de mauvais gré aux souffrances sur lesquelles nous n'avons aucun contrôle.

Dans l'Évangile d’aujourd’hui, trois personnes différentes décident de suivre le Christ. Dans le troisième cas, Jésus utilise une image agricole, semblable à celle de la première lecture : « Quiconque met la main à la charrue, puis regarde en arrière, n’est pas fait pour le royaume de Dieu ».

St Paul parle d’une autre dimension encore de la conversion : « Toute la Loi est accomplie dans l’unique parole que voici : Tu aimeras ton prochain comme toi-même ». Cela se rapproche de ce qu'il écrit dans le chapitre qui suit : « Portez les fardeaux les uns des autres : ainsi vous accomplirez la loi du Christ ».

C’est difficile pour nous de changer, et nous portons souvent le fardeau du péché. L'Église nous offre le sacrement de la réconciliation pour décharger ce fardeau, et nous remettre dans la liberté du Christ. La Belle Dame n'a pas parlé de cela, mais elle visait le même résultat.

Il y a une autre image forte dans la première lecture que nous ne voulons pas manquer, celle du manteau d'Elie, qui symbolise la transmission du rôle prophétique. Marie n'a-t-elle pas étendu son manteau sur nous ?

Traduction : P. Paul Belhumeur, M.S.

Publié dans MISSION (FR)
Sign in with Google+ Subscribe on YouTube Subscribe to RSS Upload to Flickr

Sanctuaire La Salette

Login >>> ELENCHUS

Aller au haut

Fr. René Butler MS - 22nd Ordinary Sunday -...
Humble Prayer (22nd Ordinary Sunday: Sirach 3:17-29; Hebrews 12:18-24; Luke 14: 1, 7-14) In today’s first reading we hear, “My child, conduct your affairs with humility.” In the gospel, Jesus says, “The one who humbles himself will be... Czytaj więcej
Fr. René Butler MS - 21st Ordinary Sunday -...
Ingathering (21st Ordinary Sunday: Isaiah 66:18-21; Hebrews 12:5-13; Luke 12:22-30) In recent weeks we have reflected on some challenging readings, and today seems to be no exception. In Hebrews we are told to accept trials as a form of discipline. In the gospel,... Czytaj więcej
Fr. René Butler MS - 20th Ordinary Sunday -...
Radical Faith (20th Ordinary Sunday: Jeremiah 38:4-10; Hebrews 12:1-4; Luke 12:49-53) Jeremiah, committed to his prophetic ministry, was deeply disliked. His enemies, in the first reading, accused him of demoralizing the people. The message of La Salette has a... Czytaj więcej
Fr. René Butler MS - 19th Ordinary Sunday -...
Ready for the Pilgrimage? (19th Ordinary Sunday: Wisdom 18:6-9; Hebrews 11:1-2, 8-19; Luke 12:32-48) Brothers and sisters, are we ready? Have you ever planned to leave home at a certain time for a special event, only to have last-minute delays? These can be due to... Czytaj więcej
prev
next

Sanctuaries most visited

Items filtered by date: June 2022

Hospitality

(16th Ordinary Sunday: Genesis 18:1-10; Colossians 1:24-28; Luke 10:38-42)

In the spirit of Mary’s words, “Come closer, children, don’t be afraid,” we welcome you once again to our weekly reflection. Make yourself at home.

Abraham, in the first reading, is a model of hospitality. He ran to meet the Lord and his companions, made them comfortable, and provided a festive meal. In our experience, aren’t food and drink almost always part of special events?

In Matthew 25, Jesus stressed the importance of meeting the needs of others, starting with food for the hungry and drink for the thirsty. And remember that he washed his disciples’ feet at the Last Supper, and gave them precious food and drink which we gratefully continue to receive to this day.

As reconcilers, we are also aware of the spiritual works of mercy, as we strive to help people understand the truth of God’s mercy and love, and his desire to draw us to himself. This requires a welcoming spirit on our part, patiently guiding, instructing, comforting, admonishing, etc. It helps if we can put ourselves in the place of the persons we reach out to.

As St. Paul describes himself in the second reading, we too are ministers, stewards of a grace which we are eager to share. We do so together at times, in a common effort. But as each of us is unique, we need to adapt our service to our own personality and gifts.

Here, Martha and Mary in the gospel are excellent examples. According to the gospel of John, Jesus was a regular guest in their home. We mustn’t think that Martha never listened to Jesus or Mary never helped with the serving. On this occasion, however, they demonstrated equal hospitality in different ways.

Someone had to make sure a meal was prepared. Martha assumed that responsibility.

Someone had to make Jesus feel welcome by being attentive to him in another way. It is unlikely that Mary was the only person sitting there and listening to him speak, but Jesus acknowledged that her presence was the right choice. It mattered to him.

The Beautiful Lady addressed the spiritual and material needs of her beloved people. But first she had to invite the children to come to her. To accomplish our ministry, we need to do the same.

Wayne Vanasse, and Fr. René Butler, M.S.

Published in MISSION (EN)
Thursday, 23 June 2022 22:23

Rosary - June 2022

Published in LAY ASSOCIATES (EN)

The Obvious Answer

(15th Ordinary Sunday: Deuteronomy 30:10-14; Colossians 1:15-20; Luke 10:25-37)

In the first reading, Moses states that the Law is not beyond his people’s ability to know it or carry it out. Mary at La Salette touches on some of the simplest and most obvious requirements of Christian and Catholic life. Both seem to be stating the obvious.

In today’s Gospel, a legal scholar is challenged by Jesus to find his own answer to the question about attaining eternal life. He doesn’t hesitate. “You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart, with all your being, with all your strength, and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.” Pretty obvious, really.

Moses speaks of “this command that I enjoin on you today.” To enjoin means to prescribe, to encourage, to admonish, to prompt, etc. It implies an expectation of compliance. Mary hopes for the same, not only from Mélanie and Maximin, but from all those who will someday hear her words.

Observance of the law carries with it certain rewards. Today’s text from Deuteronomy follows upon a passage reminding the people of the blessings that come to those who heed the commandments. Jesus, in the Gospel, says, “Do this and you will live.” At La Salette, the Beautiful Lady promises an end to famine for those who submit to her Son.

Acting in view of a reward, however, is not an adequate fulfillment of the great commandment. The more perfectly we love God, the more natural it will be for us to live by his will.

Consider Jesus in his passion. He loved his Father with all his heart, pierced for our sins as blood and water poured forth; with all his being, as he entered fully into his Father’s will in the Garden of Gethsemane; with all his strength as he carried his cross; with all his mind as he prayed even for his enemies.

Mary, at the foot of the cross, united her love to his. At La Salette, she asked nothing for herself. It was natural for her to respond to the needs of her people, the obvious thing for her to do.

What must we do to inherit eternal life? Love the Lord, our God... Love our neighbor... Go and do likewise. Is that too mysterious, is that too remote?

Wayne Vanasse, and Fr. René Butler, M.S.

Published in MISSION (EN)
Tuesday, 14 June 2022 19:55

Monthly Bulletin 005

Published in LAY ASSOCIATES (EN)

The Joy and Boast of Missionaries

(14th Ordinary Sunday: Isaiah 66:10-14; Galatians 6:14-18; Luke 10:1-12, 17-20)

[NOTE: The following is lovingly dedicated to the memory of Bishop Donald Pelletier, M.S., 90, lifelong missionary to Madagascar, who died when struck by a car on June 4, 2022, even as this reflection was being prepared.]

In today’s gospel Jesus commissioned seventy-two disciples to precede him to towns and villages he intended to visit. He provided them with specific, rather daunting instructions as to the how, what, where, etc. of their mission. They had already spent significant time in his company, they were ready, off they went.

Their mission was a success, as we read: “The seventy-two returned rejoicing, and said, ‘Lord, even the demons are subject to us because of your name.’" La Salette Missionaries and Sisters and Laity are not strangers to this experience. Whether in unfamiliar lands and languages, or in our own little worlds, we know the joy of bearing a message of peace and promise, especially when it is well received.

But Jesus saw the possibility of failure, too, and told the disciples what to do in that case. St. Paul provides further guidance in the second reading: “May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Here it is good for us to remember once again that all the glorious light of the apparition of Our Lady of La Salette emanated from the crucifix resting over her heart. When we experience failure or rejection in our mission of reconciliation, we may imagine ourselves bathed in that same light.

That said, the dominant theme of today’s liturgy is joy. The first reading sets the tone. Isaiah has a vision of the exiles returning to Jerusalem, and compares them to an infant nursing exuberantly at its mother’s breast—an image of perfect happiness!

The Psalmist takes up the theme: “Shout joyfully to God, all the earth,” and then finds as many ways as possible to say it again.

Naturally we are delighted when our missionary efforts bear fruit. But let us not forget Jesus’ words, “Do not rejoice because the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice because your names are written in heaven.” An added comfort for us, if needed, is that our names are inscribed in the heart of a Beautiful Lady.

Wayne Vanasse, and Fr. René Butler, M.S.

Published in MISSION (EN)

Which Yoke?

(13th Ordinary Sunday: 1 Kings 19:16-21; Galatians 5:1, 13-18; Luke 9:51-62)

Anyone who has seen traditional farming knows what a yoke is: a wooden structure placed over the neck of animals, for plowing or pulling heavy loads. Often two animals are yoked together, sharing the burden. This is part of the setting of the first reading.

St. Paul, however, uses the term in a figurative sense. “For freedom Christ set us free; so stand firm and do not submit again to the yoke of slavery.” He goes on to say that if we abuse our freedom, we are not free.

Does this remind you of a saying of Jesus? It is not in today’s Gospel, but rather in Matthew 11:30: “My yoke is easy, and my burden light.” This is usually understood as a yoke that Jesus places on our shoulders. But another possible reading is that he is inviting us to bear his yoke with him, to share in carrying his burden.

Either way, a right submission is required, a willingness to know his will and a desire to carry it out. This means, in a sense, exchanging one yoke for another. At La Salette, Mary offers a choice: submit humbly to the simple requirements of faith, or submit grudgingly to sufferings over which we have no control.

In today’s Gospel, three different persons decide to follow Christ. In the third case Jesus uses a farming image, close to that of the first reading: “No one who sets a hand to the plow and looks to what was left behind is fit for the kingdom of God.”

St. Paul also reminds of another dimension of conversion: “The whole law is fulfilled in one statement, namely, You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” This is close to what he writes in the next chapter of this letter: “Bear one another’s burdens and so you will fulfill the law of Christ.”

It is hard for us to change, and we often bear the burden of sin. The Church offers us the sacrament of Reconciliation to remove that weight, and to restore us to our freedom in Christ. The Beautiful Lady did not speak of this, but she had the same result in mind.

There is another striking image in the first reading that we do not wish to omit, that of Elijah’s mantle, symbolizing the passing on of the prophetic role. Has not Mary spread her mantle over us?

Wayne Vanasse, and Fr. René Butler, M.S.

Published in MISSION (EN)
Sign in with Google+ Subscribe on YouTube Subscribe to RSS Upload to Flickr

Missionaries in USA

Login >>> ELENCHUS

Go to top